356656542 592302443025539 3766899943645232906 N356656542 592302443025539 3766899943645232906 N356656542 592302443025539 3766899943645232906 N

Annual Awards Nominations

Annual Award Details and Nominations

At the close of each race season, ACT Triathlon and the ACT Triathlon community gather to recognise the accomplishments of athletes, and contributions of coaches, technical officials and volunteers.

ACT Triathlon Annual Individual Age Group Awards

Individual Age Group awards are presented to triathletes based on their performance over any distance during the race season (Capital Duathlon, Challenge Canberra, Jackie Fairweather Memorial Triathlon and the 3 races at the Aqua Series). Recognition for the top three men and women in each age group category (based on their points accumulated throughout the season) while medals will only be presented to first place in each age category.

12-13, 14-15, 16-19, 20-24, 25-29, 30-34, 35-39, 40-44, 45-49, 50-54, 55-59, 60-64, 65-69, 70+

In addition to the individual Age Group awards, the following awards are also presented:

ACT Triathlon Annual Awards:

  • Female and Male MVT – The top male and top female athlete (through accumulation of points throughout the season) will be crowned Age Group MVT (most valuable triathlete)
  • Para-Triathlete of the Year – To recognise the “best performed” Para-Triathlete achievement in the sport of triathlon and its related disciplines of duathlon and aquathlon.
  • Technical Official of the Year – Nominated by the Technical Officials Manager to recognise the valuable contributions made by individual Technical Officials who demonstrate a high personal commitment to the Technical Programme.
  • Special Achievement in Coaching – To recognise the important role that coaches play in athletic performance and to specifically recognise a coach or coaches who have made an outstanding contribution to the performance of an athlete or group of athletes competing at the Elite or Professional level.

Annual Awards will be awarded based on overall performance throughout the race year and will be awarded at the discretion of the ACT Board and Awards Nomination Committee if all criteria is met.

ACT Triathlon Special Awards:

  • Age Group Athlete of the Year
  • Rad Leovic Award for Senior Contributor to Triathlon
  • Club Coach of the Year
  • Novice of the Year
  • Volunteer of the year
  • Endurance Spirit Award*
  • Spirit of Triathlon*
  • Multisport Rising Star*
  • Athlete’s Athlete*

*New award categories

Financial members of ACT Triathlon (members holding a training membership or above) nominate other ACT Triathlon members for Special Awards by submitting a nomination form responding to all the required criteria outlined in the individual special award descriptions below.

  • Nominations are open to all ACT Triathlon members.
  • Members may only submit one nomination per award category and cannot self-nominate for Special Awards.
  • Nominations for current ACT Triathlon Board members may be considered provided that the Board member recuse themselves from the voting process for awards for which they have been nominated.
  • All nominations must meet the specific criteria for each award.
  • Nominations will be reviewed by the Awards Panel, who will make the final decision on award recipients.
  • Shortlisted nominees will be notified by the ACT Tri board of their nomination on Monday 3rd June 2024.
  • All nominees and award winners may be required to participate in media activities related to the awards.

Nominations must be submitted by 5pm AEST 31st May 2024.

Screenshot 2024 05 08 At 12.34.26 Pm

Special Announcement:

After careful consideration and reflection, the decision has been made to retire the following Special Awards:

  • Darren Luskey Award for Ironman Achievement
  • Rachel Baker Memorial Award for Outstanding Achievement in Triathlon
  • Simon Thompson Award for Most Outstanding Performance by a Junior

This decision has not been made lightly, but with a deep sense of respect for the achievements and legacy of Darren, Rachel and Simon.

As ACT Triathlon continues to evolve and grow, we believe it is important to streamline our recognition efforts to better align with our current mission and values. While we bid farewell to these awards, we want to express our gratitude to all past recipients and nominees who have contributed to the rich tapestry of our community. We remain committed to honouring excellence, celebrating accomplishments and contributions of our members in new and meaningful ways moving forward.

ACT Triathlon Special Awards Criteria

Age Group Athlete of the Year

Rad Leovic Award for Senior Contributor to Triathlon

Club Coach of the Year

Novice of the Year

Endurance Spirit Award

Multisport Rising Star

Spirit of ACT Triathlon Award

The Athlete’s Athlete Award

Screenshot 2024 05 08 At 12.34.26 Pm

Annual awards night details

Photo Output 11

Join us on the 29th of June at Lucky’s Speakeasy | QT Canberra from 6pm onwards, for what is sure to be a fantastic night celebrating our triathlon family.

Date: Saturday 29th June, 2024

Time: 6:00pm to 11pm

Venue: Lucky’s Speakeasy @ QT Canberra, Canberra City

Dress Code: Cocktail

Price: $60 per person

Those under 18 must be accompanied by an adult as this is a licensed venue. Any dietary requirements must notified to Steve Bingley at director@act.triathlon.org.au by 10am Monday 24th June 2024.

Screenshot 2024 05 09 At 11.10.08 Am